Shenandoah County Electoral Board

Board Description

Every city and county in the Commonwealth of Virginia has a three-member Electoral Board, with bipartisan representation, which is appointed to administer fair, free, open and transparent elections. Recommendations for appointment are made by local political parties and are court appointed for each county or city. Some duties of the Electoral Board are to appoint the General Registrar and Officers of Election for their county or city, train Officers of Election, purchase and maintain the voting equipment, prepare ballots, administer the absentee ballot process, conduct elections in a secure and non-partisan manner and certify the results of elections. Electoral Boards ensure the integrity of our election process.


The Shenandoah County Electoral Board is comprised of three members who are appointed by a majority of the Circuit Court judges of the County for a three year staggered term. Two members represent the political party of the Governor currently in office and one member represents the political party having the second highest number of votes for governor at the last preceding gubernatorial election.


Chair: April D. Moore –

Vice-Chair: Allie F. Coffey –

Secretary: Denise Doyle –


The board meets as needed in order to fulfill duties related to the elections cycle, as well as those designated by the Department of Elections. The Shenandoah County Electoral Board also meets monthly.

The specific dates and times for meeting is posted on The Electoral Board Meetings and Minutes Page.