Click here to Pay Online
Real Estate Taxes
The Code of Virginia, 1950, as amended, provides for the assessment and collection of real estate taxes based on fair market value established by the governing body each year. The last reassessment was effective as of January 1, 2016. Real Estate taxes are due each year in two equal payments. The first half deadline is June 5th and the second half deadline is December 5th. Under existing laws, beginning the day after the due date a 10% penalty will be calculated on the principal due and interest of 10% per annum, calculated monthly, will be added to the base and penalty. Any payment postmarked before the deadline(s) will be accepted without penalty. To ensure timely payment it is recommended that all mailed remittances are hand canceled by a Postal employee.
Failure to receive a tax bill will not relieve the penalty and interest charge that will be applied to all past due bills.
BANK ON LINE BILL-PAY CUSTOMERS – Please allow sufficient time for your payment to arrive to the County on or before midnight of the due date. Consult your bill paying service for their recommended number of days for payments to reach the County.
**Save time by utilizing the Large White Drop Box located at the Clock Tower entrance of the Government Center.
If there is a change of ownership or billing address please contact the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office at (540) 459-6174.
The real estate tax rate is set in the spring during budget deliberations by the Board of Supervisors. For 2021 the rate is $0.69 per $100 of assessed value.
NOTICE: Failure to pay Real Estate taxes by the due date will invoke collection procedures per the Code of Virginia. Any Real Estate delinquent for 2 or more years is eligible for tax sale. Subject to publication 30 days after deadline.
View Tax Books: http://shenandoahcountyva.us/reports-codes/
Personal Property Tax
Personal Property tax for Shenandoah County is filed on Form 762, Return of Tangible Personal Property. All residents and businesses within the County as of January 1 of taxable year, must file a personal property return with the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office on or before February 1, of taxable year, to avoid a 10% late filing fee imposed by ordinance. Individuals must declare all vehicles, including vehicles with 30 day tags and inoperable vehicles, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, boats, trailers, campers, planes, business furniture and fixtures, business tools, machinery and tools, merchant capital (inventory), and mobile homes. Vehicles seeking high mileage deduction must file proof (i.e.: title; inspection; oil change, etc.) by February 1 of taxable year to receive credit.
Only those individuals and businesses located in Shenandoah County as of January 1 of the tax year will be taxed. If you move into the County after January 1, you should receive a tax bill from the previous locality of which you were a resident; however, if you move out of Shenandoah County after January 1 (of the tax year) you will be liable for the full year tax to Shenandoah County since Shenandoah County does not prorate personal property taxes.
For additional information on personal property, INCLUDING VEHICLE VALUES, contact the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office at (540) 459-6170.
The Personal Property tax rate is set in the spring during budget deliberations by the Board of Supervisors.
For 2021 the rate for vehicles is $3.90 per $100 of assessed value.
Subject to publication 30 days after deadline.
NOTICE: Upon failure to pay taxes by the due date, Shenandoah County will authorize the DMV to withhold all registration renewals for all vehicles owned or co-owned by this taxpayer until taxes are made current. VA Code 46.2.752(J)
*ALL DMV stop accounts WILL incur a $55.00 fee – ($25.00 DMV stop fee and $30.00 Administrative fee) in addition to taxes, penalties and interest charges.*
Please see Article X of the Shenandoah County Code for details about transient occupancy.