600 N. Main Street
Woodstock, VA 22664
Shenandoah County Dept. of Fire and Rescue, in conjunction with the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services, will be sponsoring a certification course in Emergency Medical Technician- Basic. This over 200 hour course is designed to provide training to prepare an individual to function independently in a medical emergency while providing the basic knowledge and skills needed to provide basic life support (BLS) care, and is required to progress to more advanced levels of pre-hospital patient care. Virginia Certification requires successful completion of a National Registry written test and practical skills examination.
Locations: SCFR Training Room
600 N. Main Street, Ste 109
Woodstock, VA 22664
Dates: Begins November 6, 2018 through May, 2019
Meets Tuesdays, Thursdays, and some Saturdays- See Attached Course Schedule
Instructors: Local EMS Instructor Cadre
Times: Class begins promptly at 19:00hrs on weekdays and 08:00hrs on weekends.
Cost: $400.00 per student if affiliated with an agency in Shenandoah County.
$400.00 per student if NOT affiliated with an agency within Shenandoah County. (non-refundable)
$50 Practical Test Site Fees are due to the EMS Council prior the time of testing for students NOT affiliated with an agency within Shenandoah County.
Practical Test Site Fees are free for students affiliated with a Shenandoah County Agency.
Prerequisites: SEE BELOW
Registration: If you are interested in registering please complete a Training Form and return that and the registration fee to SCFR no later than October 29, 2018.
PREREQUISITES for EMT- BASIC LEVEL PROGRAMS
Eligibility to attend an EMS First Responder, EMS First Responder Bridge, or an Emergency Medical Technician-Basic course in Virginia requires that you must:
(1) Be proficient in reading, writing and speaking the English language.
(2) Be a minimum of 16 years of age at the beginning date of the certification course. If less than 18 years of age, you must provide the course coordinator with a completed parental permission form with the signature of a parent or guardian verifying approval for enrollment in the course. If you are less than 18 years of age and affiliated with an EMS or other Public Safety agency, you must also provide the Course Coordinator with documentation from an Officer of the agency stating you will be covered by the agencies insurance while attending the course.
(3) Have no physical or mental impairment that would render them unable to perform all practical skills required for that level of certification.
(4) Not have been convicted of or found guilty of any crime, offense or regulatory violation, or participated in any other prohibited conduct identified in state EMS regulations as follows:
(A) Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime involving sexual misconduct where lack of affirmative consent by the victim is an element of the crime.
(B) Have never been convicted of a felony involving the sexual or physical abuse of children, the elderly or the infirm.
(C) Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime (including abuse, neglect, theft from, or financial exploration) of a person entrusted to their care or protection in which the victim is a patient or is a resident of a health care facility.
(D) Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime involving the use, possession, or distribution of illegal drugs except that the person is eligible for affiliation or enrollment five years after the date of final release if no additional crimes of this type have been committed during that time.
(E) Have never been convicted or found guilty of any other act that is a felony except that the felon is eligible for affiliation or enrollment five years after the date of final release if no additional felonies have been committed during that time.
(F) Are not currently under any disciplinary or enforcement action from another state EMS office or other recognized state or national healthcare provider licensing or certifying body. Personnel subject to these disciplinary or enforcement actions may be eligible for certification provided there have been no further disciplinary or enforcement actions for five years prior to application for certification in Virginia.
(G) Have never been subject to a permanent revocation of license or certification by another state EMS office or recognized state or national healthcare provider licensing or certifying body.
(5) All references to criminal acts or convictions under this section refer to substantially similar laws or regulations of any other state or the United States. Convictions include prior adult convictions, juvenile convictions, and adjudications of delinquency based on an offense that would have been, at the time of conviction, a felony conviction if committed by an adult within or outside Virginia.
(6) If you are bridging to the EMT-Basic certification level, you must hold a current Virginia certification at the EMS First Responder level.
(7) Be clean and neat in appearance.
(8) May not be under the influence of any drugs or intoxicating substances that impairs your ability to provide patient care or operate a motor vehicle while in class or performing clinicals, while on duty or when responding or assisting in the care of a patient.